Metaliturtle

Divorce

220 posts in this topic

Hey guys,

Wife just filed for divorce, taking me totally from left field. We just had a daughter on the 23rd of May. Any advice?

(a) First thing to remember is that I am not an expert on this. I'm probably the farther thing from an expert that you can imagine. That having been said:

(b) I find the timing highly suspicious. Most women with a new baby would be looking for more security, not trying to jettison a wage-earning spouse and not trying to put herself through the stress of a divorce. Her actions are not logical. :spock: This makes me wonder if she's not suffering from postpartum depression, i.e. "baby blues." My understanding (again, I'm not an expert) is that lack of Omega-3* is a significant cause of postpartum depression. Omega-3 is so important for the development of the baby's central nervous system, that the mother's body will deplete her own supply in order that the fetus will have enough. Then the mother's lack of Omega-3 sends her own nervous system into a tail spin.

© I am buoyed in my belief by the fact that you were taken by surprise. Admitted we guys are morons when it comes to relationships, but dumb as we are, we can usually figure out when the relationship is in deep trouble. There's the screaming arguments, the occasional gunfire, etc. The lack of warning signs reinforces my belief that her problem is physiological in nature. So, in my uneducated and unexpert opinion, she needs Omega-3.

(d) The last thing to remember is that I am not an expert. Good luck.

* found in fish oils, flax seeds, walnuts and in tablet form.

Ehh?? WTF?? Postpartum depression? I've seen this happen more than once in my extended circle of friends. Women can get real crazy with all them hormones and stuff after childbirth.

Edit: x-post with Zkribbler...

According to Wikipedia:

Symptoms of PPD can occur anytime in the first year postpartum[6] and include, but are not limited to, the following:

Sadness