Unorthodox

Madden NFL '11

6 posts in this topic

First, a little history on me:

I'm an old school Madden vet. However, the last game I PURCHASED was '06. After having been buying every year/every other year prior.

The reasons I had for stopping the purchase is the game continued to get less and less 'fun' in it's quest for 'realism'.

Every year, I look for a new Madden that goes back to the oldschool gameplay, and each year I'm disappointed.

So, when I saw the '11 demo on the PSN last night, I swiftly downloaded it.

After a quick game this morning....Jets vs Colts....

THIS may be the first Madden I'll buy in a long time.

I tried this new 'gameflow' feature.

This amounts to letting the AI call your play for you. And, to my surprise, the AI is not an idiot.

My first set of downs, I was cursing it. "ooo, pass on down 1, run on down 2, pass on down 3...who coulda guessed that?"

But, as the game went on, it actually called the game more or less how I would have in terms of when to pass vs when to run. Ending up at about 60-40 run heavy, due mostly to a big lead in the 4th and running out the clock. Now, it DID pick a couple plays I would have never called in a million years (option play. Streak routes from the 10 yard line...), but they actually worked...so, who am I to complain?

I've never been a huge fan of the massive playbooks anyway. Typically finding a few dozen or so I really like and just repeating those.

And, the game allows you to enter a 'gameplan' to have the coaches call 'your' plays more often if you want as well.

There were two distinctly noticeable improvements to the actual gameplay.

Blocking first and foremost. They're not idiots anymore! Pulling linemen actually pull, sweeps actually get lead blockers...who actually block.

And...pressuring the QB actually does something. Many Madden's past, pressuring the QB typically lead to 2 outcomes: Sack, or a pass knocked straight to the ground.