Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast
Results 61 to 80 of 131

Thread: Caveman2Cosmos

  1. #61

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sgtslick View Post
    Hi, good to see you guys playing c2c. I've been playing awhile now so might be able to give you some tips. You need to have enabled civ to be able to use more than 2gb of ram or else it will indeed crash late game. Once you get this sorted and have a decent machine and 64bit win7 i am running 50+civs on gigantic earth map modern era.
    The "/3G" switch. I had seen some things about that, but the only real thing was someone saying to do a sarch, but I got too many things to look though on that. If you could post a link to the actual instructions, that would be greatly appreciated.

    And as for Decent machine, I've got an older machine and XP Pro and limited memory. Unfortunately, my box uses RDRAM, which is no longer made, still expensive and has to be purchased in pairs. Would be more cost efective for me to get a whole new MB/Proc/Memory to put into my box....but being Unemployed doesn't help with the cashflow for all that...

    Its really made for snail speed i'd say and don't be shy to use the auto-explore auto-hunt options on your units especially early as this will get rid of alot of the 'grind' feeling in the prehistoric era etc.
    Yep, but you don't want that when playing a PBEM or Pitboss game, unless you want to wait 17 years to go theouth the 7000+ turns for that speed... (based on one turn a day average turnaround).

    Make sure you have build que's in your cities and you can number them like in normal civ4, (control+1,2,3 etc) If you have to choose what to build each time something finishes it becomes really annoying..
    I typically have 5+ items in my queues, pushing in new things and rearranging often. And I like to tell my units were to go, helps prevent things like running into the wrong terrain and getting killed. or missing something that I should have looked at.

    I do like the auto patrol and auto-escort, but there should be something similar to the auto patrol, like auto hunt, where you can tell it to walk a parameter zone outside the borders and get some wild animals. And I don't like to auto improve. I like to get my hands dirty, so to speak....

    Oh and not sure if your aware but there are BUG options which is the little ladybug in the top left, you click on that and there are a myriad of further customizations that you can make.
    Yep.

    So, are you possibly interested in getting in to the game that we are setting up?
    Last edited by E_T; 29-04-12 at 22:15.
    Remember...... [inhale]...It's just a game.....[exhale...inhale]....So Let's have some FUN!!!.

    (Yep, that was my plan all along. Totally didn't forget about the slider.) - Kloreep the Pharsical, 1840 AD-? WPC Succession Game WePassCiv

    Plus, I'd have just shot the pipe wielding guy. - Lancer

    Three time Hugo Award Winning http://www.girlgeniusonline.com/comic.php
    Worship the Comic here
    Get your schlock mercenary fix here

  2. #62
    Monarch Argroww's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Birmingham, UK
    Posts
    1,283
    Downloads
    5
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Drat.....turn 1507 CTD.....looks like large map is beyond my laptop...I also know that one of the AIs was building LOTS of units, they're all behind me tech-wise and yet he nearly matched me in strength....therefore he's got more units than me, lots more.

    It also hints that even on PBEM game my laptop may not survive a large map. :-(

  3. #63

    Default

    try turning down the graphics in the option screen, to medium or low (the part just below the screen resolution option part) and turning off Animations and change to single unit graphics. Plus, from what I also read over at cfc, having your resource balloons on also used a huge amount of memory, so turn it off.
    Remember...... [inhale]...It's just a game.....[exhale...inhale]....So Let's have some FUN!!!.

    (Yep, that was my plan all along. Totally didn't forget about the slider.) - Kloreep the Pharsical, 1840 AD-? WPC Succession Game WePassCiv

    Plus, I'd have just shot the pipe wielding guy. - Lancer

    Three time Hugo Award Winning http://www.girlgeniusonline.com/comic.php
    Worship the Comic here
    Get your schlock mercenary fix here

  4. #64

    Default

    Also, some of the discussions that I've been reading lately is that they are starting to come against a wall that is in the .exe game engine itself. So for them to be able to do some of what they want to be able to do (like the multi-map thing) might not be possible. At least, not with the current game engine...
    Remember...... [inhale]...It's just a game.....[exhale...inhale]....So Let's have some FUN!!!.

    (Yep, that was my plan all along. Totally didn't forget about the slider.) - Kloreep the Pharsical, 1840 AD-? WPC Succession Game WePassCiv

    Plus, I'd have just shot the pipe wielding guy. - Lancer

    Three time Hugo Award Winning http://www.girlgeniusonline.com/comic.php
    Worship the Comic here
    Get your schlock mercenary fix here

  5. #65
    Monarch Argroww's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Birmingham, UK
    Posts
    1,283
    Downloads
    5
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Done all that E_T....tisa bit of a shame because one of the options that uses more memory also makes sure that the units like like what they are meant to, and whilst it does help a little, it doesn't help enough.

    I'm going to start a new game on a standard map on a lower difficulty, this will be purely to see how long the game will run....I don't think I've actually played even up to the modern age in a recent C2C game due to the regularity of new releases...

    However it may mean that my laptop is unsuitable for our plans a for a PBEM game....although having more human players may reduce the number of gigantic AI controlld stacks....which is what i believe is causing my problems.

    I'm sure I read somewhere that the biggest hog of memory is the AI itself, it loves stacks, due to this it will build immense numbers of units, the more units, the more effort on the hardware...so the more AIs and the more warlike they are, the more stacks...then of course you need to build your own stacks to compensate...

  6. #66

    Default

    That or regularly spank them...
    Remember...... [inhale]...It's just a game.....[exhale...inhale]....So Let's have some FUN!!!.

    (Yep, that was my plan all along. Totally didn't forget about the slider.) - Kloreep the Pharsical, 1840 AD-? WPC Succession Game WePassCiv

    Plus, I'd have just shot the pipe wielding guy. - Lancer

    Three time Hugo Award Winning http://www.girlgeniusonline.com/comic.php
    Worship the Comic here
    Get your schlock mercenary fix here

  7. #67
    Monarch Argroww's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Birmingham, UK
    Posts
    1,283
    Downloads
    5
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Darn it! my partner's laptop has finally given up (the cooling fan had been going nuts recently and the laptop itself getting pretty hot, so not surprising)....however this means I'm reduced to playing only FB games or other short-term browser games so we can fairly share my laptop between us...at least I have the Xbox to fall back on too, but it does mean no Civ or any other long-play type game until we can source a replacement :-(

  8. #68

    Default

    Would replacing the fan help?

    Guess just playing a turn a day is out...

    Business partner?? Other?
    Remember...... [inhale]...It's just a game.....[exhale...inhale]....So Let's have some FUN!!!.

    (Yep, that was my plan all along. Totally didn't forget about the slider.) - Kloreep the Pharsical, 1840 AD-? WPC Succession Game WePassCiv

    Plus, I'd have just shot the pipe wielding guy. - Lancer

    Three time Hugo Award Winning http://www.girlgeniusonline.com/comic.php
    Worship the Comic here
    Get your schlock mercenary fix here

  9. #69
    Monarch Argroww's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Birmingham, UK
    Posts
    1,283
    Downloads
    5
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Business partner? no.....sorry, life partner...I don't say wife because we're not actually married, but as good as with 4 kids!!!

    Cash is a bit short so new laptop is unlikely, but might be able to wangle one out of work, she only uses the laptop for FB anyway.

    So a turn a day is fine if we get this PBEM game going...trouble is the mod takes a good 5-10 mins to actually get into the game!!

  10. #70

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Argroww View Post
    Business partner? no.....sorry, life partner...I don't say wife because we're not actually married, but as good as with 4 kids!!!

    Cash is a bit short so new laptop is unlikely, but might be able to wangle one out of work, she only uses the laptop for FB anyway.

    So a turn a day is fine if we get this PBEM game going...trouble is the mod takes a good 5-10 mins to actually get into the game!!
    If she need a less complex computer, try accuateit.com for referbished and out of box specials. I got my last two flatscreen monitors from them. Originally, I had ordered two of the same, but one had failed they're burn-in test, called me to let me know and credited me for the one, as it was the last two that they had. A week later. I got my 2nd from ther and might get a laptop fromthere at some time in the future.

    But recommended
    Remember...... [inhale]...It's just a game.....[exhale...inhale]....So Let's have some FUN!!!.

    (Yep, that was my plan all along. Totally didn't forget about the slider.) - Kloreep the Pharsical, 1840 AD-? WPC Succession Game WePassCiv

    Plus, I'd have just shot the pipe wielding guy. - Lancer

    Three time Hugo Award Winning http://www.girlgeniusonline.com/comic.php
    Worship the Comic here
    Get your schlock mercenary fix here

  11. #71

    Default

    Version 23 should be released sometime this weekend (hopefully). It will have several CTD fixes, including, I believe, the issue you were having with your game.
    Remember...... [inhale]...It's just a game.....[exhale...inhale]....So Let's have some FUN!!!.

    (Yep, that was my plan all along. Totally didn't forget about the slider.) - Kloreep the Pharsical, 1840 AD-? WPC Succession Game WePassCiv

    Plus, I'd have just shot the pipe wielding guy. - Lancer

    Three time Hugo Award Winning http://www.girlgeniusonline.com/comic.php
    Worship the Comic here
    Get your schlock mercenary fix here

  12. #72

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Argroww View Post
    Business partner? no.....sorry, life partner...I don't say wife because we're not actually married, but as good as with 4 kids!!!
    Was thinking that it might have been something else.... But from what I know, if you co-habit for more than 7 years, your basically common law married (depending on the state). Nut then, you don't get the discounts like on car insurance, etc because your still technically single...

    And I had a Domestic Partner of 8.5 years, before we had broken up. But then, Florida doesn't (still) recognize same sex marrages, either...
    Remember...... [inhale]...It's just a game.....[exhale...inhale]....So Let's have some FUN!!!.

    (Yep, that was my plan all along. Totally didn't forget about the slider.) - Kloreep the Pharsical, 1840 AD-? WPC Succession Game WePassCiv

    Plus, I'd have just shot the pipe wielding guy. - Lancer

    Three time Hugo Award Winning http://www.girlgeniusonline.com/comic.php
    Worship the Comic here
    Get your schlock mercenary fix here

  13. #73
    Monarch Argroww's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Birmingham, UK
    Posts
    1,283
    Downloads
    5
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    State? AHA!....I'm a brit, some very different laws :-D

  14. #74

    Default

    Looks like the next version is delayed a bit or this is the normal process as I haven't been watching them until now, so no base to compare...

    Koshling posted something about the new upcoming version and my reply/question

    Quote Originally Posted by Koshling
    V23 will be released in approximately one week - you may want to just experiment a little, and hold off starting a 'real' game until then.
    will the old 22_1 saves work with the v23?
    Remember...... [inhale]...It's just a game.....[exhale...inhale]....So Let's have some FUN!!!.

    (Yep, that was my plan all along. Totally didn't forget about the slider.) - Kloreep the Pharsical, 1840 AD-? WPC Succession Game WePassCiv

    Plus, I'd have just shot the pipe wielding guy. - Lancer

    Three time Hugo Award Winning http://www.girlgeniusonline.com/comic.php
    Worship the Comic here
    Get your schlock mercenary fix here

  15. #75
    Monarch Argroww's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Birmingham, UK
    Posts
    1,283
    Downloads
    5
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Release times tend to vary....and each release does hold the possiblity of holding a few new bugs....but also many new features!....I would say a new version comes out roughly once a month

  16. #76

    Default

    And they answered my question about the saves

    Quote Originally Posted by Koshling
    yes, you'll just need to say yes to the modifier recalc
    So you might be able to continue with that game that you had to halt
    Remember...... [inhale]...It's just a game.....[exhale...inhale]....So Let's have some FUN!!!.

    (Yep, that was my plan all along. Totally didn't forget about the slider.) - Kloreep the Pharsical, 1840 AD-? WPC Succession Game WePassCiv

    Plus, I'd have just shot the pipe wielding guy. - Lancer

    Three time Hugo Award Winning http://www.girlgeniusonline.com/comic.php
    Worship the Comic here
    Get your schlock mercenary fix here

  17. #77
    Monarch Argroww's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Birmingham, UK
    Posts
    1,283
    Downloads
    5
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Any ideas on what's new in V23.

    And I doubt I'll be able to continue my game on the Large map....I reckon I know what was wrong.....simply a memory issue, too many units in the game for my poor little laptop to cope with, it's not really something the C2C modders can stop, the only way to do it is to stop the AI from liking SoDs as much as it does, which I believe is an inherent game flaw that comes from the original AI coding itself. You'd have to give the AI a reason not to build lots of units, which if you have the finances for it and a reason to (like war) why wouldn't you build as many units as you can....how do you tell an AI to stop building units beacuse the human player's laptop might crash?

    On the other hand it *could* have been something else, to be honest I haven't tried going back into that game just to make sure, I started a new game on a standard sized map.....then found that I no longer had the opportunity to sit and play civ for hours!!

  18. #78
    Chieftain
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    51
    Downloads
    1
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Here is a list of up to date/ongoing changes http://forums.civfanatics.com/showth...29816&page=125
    Here is how to get civ to use more then 2gb or ram aka 3gb switch http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=224178

    I don't think c2c is very stable for MP, you will OOS alot, and the game plays much better on snail, and anything lower than immortal I find too easy, so ill pass on pbem thx tho.
    Its also more fun customizing the game You want it to be.

    Not sure what version ur using at the moment but u'll find v23 will be a huge improvement even over v22.1 especially when it comes to turn times, memory leaks and general stability.
    Oh and v23 should be out in a couple of days i'd say. They are pretty much done. Just keep checking it out.

    *edit* yes saves are fully compatible between versions.
    Last edited by sgtslick; 10-05-12 at 04:30.

  19. #79

    Default

    Version 23 is just about live. They have the file ready, but it's too big (900M or so) to upload where they've been uploading it too, so they are trying to find some place else to upload it. Once that's done, it will be available.
    Remember...... [inhale]...It's just a game.....[exhale...inhale]....So Let's have some FUN!!!.

    (Yep, that was my plan all along. Totally didn't forget about the slider.) - Kloreep the Pharsical, 1840 AD-? WPC Succession Game WePassCiv

    Plus, I'd have just shot the pipe wielding guy. - Lancer

    Three time Hugo Award Winning http://www.girlgeniusonline.com/comic.php
    Worship the Comic here
    Get your schlock mercenary fix here

  20. #80

    Default

    They had to split the files up, here are the download links for both parts


    http://www.gamefront.com/files/21686...+v23+Part+1.7z

    http://www.gamefront.com/files/21686...+v23+Part+2.7z

    [EDIT]
    o.k., when strategyonly split the files and packed them up, he did a slight boo-boo. The Part 2 files get extracted to "part 2/caveman2cosmos" instead of "part 2/caveman2cosmos/assets". These 8 files (the dll, dll backup and 6 FPK files) need to be in the BtS/Mods/C2C/assets subfolder for the game to work correctly.

    The part 1 files will extract into "Part 1/Caveman2Cosmos/" and in the various subfolders that they are supposed to be in. Move the Caveman2Cosmos Folder with the subtrees/files over to the BtS/Mods folder in the Main game Program files area.

    Then, when you extract part 2, move those 8 files into the Assets folder of the mod. That should get you going...[/edit]

    [2nd EDIT]
    This link tells you how to manually set up the ini files and the shortcuts so that you don't lose your settings every time you play C2C and then go back to unmodded BtS.

    http://forums.civfanatics.com/showpo...postcount=4682

    You might want to rename your C2C folder to include 23 (Caveman2Cosmos23). That way, when you get a newer version that you want to play in SP but don't want to mess up your ongoing MP game, then you just put that into a separate folder with the newer version number at the end. Then, you use the above instructions to make another shortcut to the new version and your good to go...
    [/edit]
    Last edited by E_T; 12-05-12 at 19:20.
    Remember...... [inhale]...It's just a game.....[exhale...inhale]....So Let's have some FUN!!!.

    (Yep, that was my plan all along. Totally didn't forget about the slider.) - Kloreep the Pharsical, 1840 AD-? WPC Succession Game WePassCiv

    Plus, I'd have just shot the pipe wielding guy. - Lancer

    Three time Hugo Award Winning http://www.girlgeniusonline.com/comic.php
    Worship the Comic here
    Get your schlock mercenary fix here

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •